Weekend Recap: Valentine’s Weekend

Hey y’all! I hope everybody had an amazing Valentine’s Day. You might be thinking “Yeah it was great. I sat by myself in front of the TV, ate two boxes of Lindt truffles, and cried myself to sleep”. I hope it wasn’t that bad, honestly. However, I was single on Valentine’s AGAIN this year. Nearly every other year, I had been incredibly bitter and jealous toward all the annoying couples out there. However, this year, I decided to change my attitude. I’m tired of seeing twitter posts complaining about the lack of this type of guy or that type of girl, this type of specific relationship, or whining about why I’m single and blah blah blah. I mean, I used to do these things too, so it’s not like I’m any better.

I don’t know anyone’s situation reading this and I’m not going to pretend to, but if I’m going to be real with you guys, I’ve become discouraged regarding the subject of relationships lately. I see my friends moving through life, meeting wonderful men of God and looking genuinely fulfilled with their relationships. Sure, there have been opportunities for me to date, (Not like guys are blowing up my phone or anything) but it just wasn’t going to work out or end up right. I think you have to really think dating through when it involves not just your own feelings, but someone else’s as well.

Despite my past dismay on the romance subject, I had a GREAT Valentine’s day. Want to know why? Because I’m grateful. In my opinion, I think Valentine’s should focus on not just romantic love, but that brotherly/sisterly love between friends as well. I got to hang out with some of my best friends that have been my friends for YEARS now. And I’m incredibly blessed and happy that they love me. Friday, when I got home, My dad left me an stunning bouquet arrangement of flowers, and my sweet boss gave me a lovely rose and a box of chocolates (those are gone now..SO. GOOD.). Saturday, Forrest was nice enough to buy my ticket to the Valentine’s banquet and pick me up to go see it. I got to see my two best friends and my old youth group ham it up on the Grace Church of Ovilla stage while they put on an amazing production for the body our church. Priscilla and I are 21 years old, but we still have sleepovers like we do when we met when we were 16 years old. We had one Saturday night, and it was just what I needed. She’s the type of person who can make me laugh, I mean genuinely laugh, even after a week that has drained me spiritually, emotionally, and physically. As I’m sure you can tell, occasionally, we still act like we’re 16, with our ridiculous posts on Facebook and whatnot. But hey, I live for those moments. Cracking up with my friends means the world to me, and there was no place I’d rather be on Valentine’s night (cue the song “No Place I’d Rather Be” by Clean Bandit)

I’ve learned I really don’t need a guy to feel whole or confident. I KNOW I can’t be the only girl that has struggled with feeling like you DO need one. I’ve realized that sometimes girls make waiting around for God’s match for them to be a priority, and that frustrated me when I was doing it. I think that it’s fine to want a marriage and a husband one day, but be productive in your waiting. It’s SO important to not be defined by another person. You have to take a step back and know how to be alone, and be not only content, but comfortable with it. You have to grow to know yourself first, and (as self-help-like as this sounds) love yourself. I’m finally getting to a good place where I can do that, I don’t need a guy to tell me or value me first, because Christ cherishes and loves me, and I love me, too. This advice is for the guys out there too. Keep working toward YOUR dreams and YOUR goals, and things will fall into place.

To sum up, Valentine’s Day was perfect for me. And to end the weekend, I’m currently eating Girl Scout cookies and watching Full House. I wish I could learn how to say no to those cute little girls selling the boxes because I have too many now and it’s getting ridiculous. Love you all!

SamBo.

One thought on “Weekend Recap: Valentine’s Weekend

Leave a Reply

